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BEFORE THE IOWA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COMMISSIONER

______________________________________________________________________



  :

TRAVIS STANLEY,
  :



  :


Claimant,
  :



  :

vs.

  :



  :                          File No. 5037719
MIDWEST COAST 
  :

TRANSPORTATION, LLC,
 :



  :                      A R B I T R A T I O N 


Employer,
  :



  :                           D E C I S I O N

and

  :



  :

DAKOTA TRUCK UNDERWRITERS,
  :



  :           Head Note Nos.:  3003; 4000.2

Insurance Carrier,
  :


Defendants.
  :  

______________________________________________________________________

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Claimant, Travis Stanley, filed a petition in arbitration seeking workers’ compensation benefits from Midwest Coast Transportation, LLC (Midwest), employer and Dakota Truck Underwriters, insurer, both as defendants.  This case was heard in Des Moines, on September 20, 2012.  The record in this case consists of claimant’s exhibits 8, 9, 10, 11, defendants exhibits A through D, and the testimony of claimant. 
ISSUES

1. Rate.
2. Whether the defendants are liable for penalty under Iowa Code section 86.13 for underpayment of benefits. 

Claimant was not at maximum medical improvement (MMI) at the time of hearing.  As indicated above, the only two issues ripe for determination at the time of hearing were rate and whether defendants were liable for a penalty. 

FINDINGS OF FACT

Claimant worked as an owner/operator truck driver for Midwest.  He alleged an injury to his right shoulder occurring on August 1, 2011.  
The records indicate claimant worked for Midwest from January 1, 2011 through August 1, 2011.  (Exhibit A, page 3)  For 2011, claimant earned $57,901.02 working for Midwest.  (Ex. 11, p. 72)  The records indicate that for 2011 claimant paid $30,042.00 for fuel; $3,242.00 for repairs and maintenance; $8,638.00 for meals; $1,104.25 for taxes and license; and $1,109.50 for insurance.  (Ex. A, Ex. 11, p. 68, Transcript page 11-13)
Claimant testified that as an owner/operator, Midwest required him to pay for his own workers’ compensation insurance.  Claimant testified he paid 2.1 cents per mile for every mile he drove.  (Tr. p. 9)  Operator settlement statements between claimant and Midwest between May 12, 2011 and August 4, 2011 indicate claimant was paid the following: 

	Week
	Amount

	5/12/2011
	$1,472.06

	5/19/2011
	$1,031.98

	5/26/2011
	$1,036.44

	6/2/2011
	$1,512.18

	6/9/2011
	$622.93

	6/16/2011
	$1,376.32

	6/23/2011
	$1,354.00

	6/30/2011
	$1,609.26

	7/7/2011
	$1,420.52

	7/14/2011
	$440.08

	7/21/2011
	$1,536.90

	7/28/2011
	$1,089.09

	8/4/2011
	$1,166.88


The amounts listed above are net amounts and do not exclude expenses. 

In a February 2012 e-mail, claimant’s counsel corresponded with Michael Trier regarding claimant’s rate.  Mr. Trier is the former Iowa Workers’ Compensation Commissioner.  In reply to claimant’s counsel’s e-mail, Mr. Trier wrote:

Without seeing documents and premium payment records, it is difficult for me to give much guidance. 

. . . .

As for the rate, that depends upon whether your client is an employee or self-employed.  If self-employed, the benefit is determined per 85.36.10 according to the level of earnings upon which he paid a premium.  To determine that you will likely need to know the premium rates and how much premium was collected.  This might require determining the level of earnings during the period of time leading up to the week of the injury depending upon what the pay frequently actually was, weekly, monthly, or irregular.  If he is determined to be an employee of Midwest, then his earnings after deducting actual expenses as defined in several court decisions might control. 

(Ex. 9, p. 1)  


In discovery, defendants requested claimant’s tax returns and claimant’s operating statements.  Claimant’s operating expenses were never provided.  Defendants believe claimant’s average weekly wage to be $637.64 per week.  They believed claimant’s gross receipts for the 52 weeks prior to the injury to be $99,472.32.  They believed the standard wage rate for an owner/operator was between 25 and 33 percent of the gross receipts.  Defendants paid claimant benefits based on an understanding that claimant’s average weekly wage was $637.64 per week.  (Ex. A, B) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The first issue to be determined is what is claimant’s proper rate. 
The party who would suffer loss if an issue were not established has the burden of proving that issue by a preponderance of the evidence.  Iowa R. App. P. 6.14(6).

Section 85.36 states the basis of compensation is the weekly earnings of the employee at the time of the injury.  The section defines weekly earnings as the gross salary, wages, or earnings to which an employee would have been entitled had the employee worked the customary hours for the full pay period in which injured as the employer regularly required for the work or employment.  The various subsections of section 85.36 set forth methods of computing weekly earnings depending upon the type of earnings and employment.

If the employee is paid on a daily or hourly basis or by output, weekly earnings are computed by dividing by 13 the earnings over the 13-week period immediately preceding the injury.  Any week that does not fairly reflect the employee’s customary earnings that fairly represent the employee’s customary earnings, however.  Section 85.36(6).

The statutes for compensation wages are meant to be applied, not mechanically or technically, but flexibly, with view to achieving the ultimate objective of fairly reflecting claimant’s probable future earnings loss.  Hanigan v. Hedstrom Concrete Products, Inc., 524 N.W.2d 158 (Iowa 1994).  

Iowa Code section 85.36(10) indicates in relevant part:

If a wage, or method of calculating a wage, is used for the basis of the payment of a workers' compensation insurance premium… the wage or the method of calculating the wage is determinative for purposes of computing the … weekly workers' compensation benefit rate.


The calculation of an owner/operator rate is dependent on a deduction for expenses.  D & C Exp., Inc. v. Sperry, 450 N.W.2d 842, 844 (Iowa 1990).  See also Gaul v. National Carrier, File No. 5007976 (Arb. April 14, 2004). 

Claimant contends his average weekly wage is $2,731.85 per week.  Defendants contend claimant’s average weekly wage is actually $475.31 per week. 


Claimant contends Iowa Code section 85.36(10) applies in this case.  The record indicates claimant paid 2.1 cents per mile in premium for workers’ compensation insurance.  However, there is no evidence in the record this premium was based on claimant’s wage or a method of calculating claimant’s wage.  


Claimant contends that his attorney’s communication, found at Exhibit 9, with Michael Trier, former Iowa Workers’ Compensation Commissioner, is proof that Iowa Code section 85.36(10) applies in this situation.  This position is incorrect for several reasons. 


First, former Commissioner Trier’s e-mail indicates at the onset that “without seeing documents of premium payment records, it is difficult for me to give much guidance.”  Former Commissioner Trier’s opinions regarding the applicable rate were made in terms of possible law that might apply.  They are not an opinion of what code section actually applies.  


Second, as noted above, claimant was paid $57,901.02 for the approximate eight months he worked for Midwest.  Claimant contends his average weekly wage is $2,731.85 per week.  The owner operator statements, found at Exhibit 8, indicate claimant actually earned approximately $1,000.00 less per week.  These owner operator statements do not exclude expenses.  An average weekly rate of $2,731.85 per week would result in claimant earning approximately $142,000.00 per year.  The average weekly wage claimant suggests does not fairly reflect claimant’s actual weekly earnings.  


Third, as noted, there is no evidence in the record that the 2.1 cents per mile charged for claimant’s workers’ compensation insurance was based on claimant’s wage or was a method of calculating claimant’s wage.  


Former Iowa Workers’ Compensation Commissioner Trier’s opinions regarding workers’ compensation law are held in high regard by the undersigned.  However, for the reasons detailed above, Iowa Code section 85.36(10) does not apply in this case. 


Claimant earned $57,901.02 for the period of January 1, 2011 through August 1, 2011.  This is a period of 30.286 weeks.  For that period, as noted, claimant had fuel costs of $30,042.00; repairs and maintenance $3,242.00; meals totaling $8,638.00; taxes and license fees equaling $1,104.25; and insurance equaling $1,109.50.  This results in total expenses of $44,135.75.  Consistent with the holding and D & C Exp., Inc. v. Sperry, 450 N.W.2d 842, 844 (Iowa 1990), these expenses should be deducted out of the total compensation paid to claimant to arrive at claimant’s average weekly wage.  This results in a sum of $13,765.27.  $13,765.27 ÷ 30.286 weeks results in an average weekly wage of $454.51.  Claimant was married with two exemptions.  His rate is $319.47 per week. 

The next issue to be determined is if penalty is applicable in this case.  

In Christensen v. Snap-on Tools Corp., 554 N.W.2d 254 (Iowa 1996), and Robbennolt v. Snap-on Tools Corp., 555 N.W.2d 229 (Iowa 1996), the supreme court said:

Based on the plain language of section 86.13, we hold an employee is entitled to penalty benefits if there has been a delay in payment unless the employer proves a reasonable cause or excuse.  A reasonable cause or excuse exists if either (1) the delay was necessary for the insurer to investigate the claim or (2) the employer had a reasonable basis to contest the employee’s entitlement to benefits.  A “reasonable basis” for denial of the claim exists if the claim is “fairly debatable.”

Christensen, 554 N.W.2d at 260.

The supreme court has stated:


(1) If the employer has a reason for the delay and conveys that reason to the employee contemporaneously with the beginning of the delay, no penalty will be imposed if the reason is of such character that a reasonable fact-finder could conclude that it is a "reasonable or probable cause or excuse" under Iowa Code section 86.13.  In that case, we will defer to the decision of the commissioner.  See Christensen, 554 N.W.2d at 260 (substantial evidence found to support commissioner’s finding of legitimate reason for delay pending receipt of medical report); Robbennolt, 555 N.W.2d at 236.


(2) If no reason is given for the delay or if the “reason” is not one that a reasonable fact-finder could accept, we will hold that no such cause or excuse exists and remand to the commissioner for the sole purpose of assessing penalties under section 86.13.  See Christensen, 554 N.W.2d at 261.


(3) Reasonable causes or excuses include (a) a delay for the employer to investigate the claim, Christensen, 554 N.W.2d at 260; Kiesecker v. Webster City Meats, Inc., 528 N.W.2d at 109, 111 (Iowa 1995); or (b) the employer had a reasonable basis to contest the claim(the “fairly debatable” basis for delay.  See Christensen, 554 N.W.2d at 260 (holding two-month delay to obtain employer’s own medical report reasonable under the circumstances). 


(4) For the purpose of applying section 86.13, the benefits that are underpaid as well as late-paid benefits are subject to penalties, unless the employer establishes reasonable and probable cause or excuse.  Robbennolt, 555 N.W.2d at 237 (underpayment resulting from application of wrong wage base; in absence of excuse, commissioner required to apply penalty).

   If we were to construe [section 86.13] to permit the avoidance of penalty if any amount of compensation benefits are paid, the purpose of the penalty statute would be frustrated.  For these reasons, we conclude section 86.13 is applicable when payment of compensation is not timely . . . or when the full amount of compensation is not paid.

Id.

(5) For purposes of determining whether there has been a delay, payments are “made” when (a) the check addressed to a claimant is mailed (Robbennolt, 555 N.W.2d at 236; Kiesecker, 528 N.W.2d at 112), or (b) the check is delivered personally to the claimant by the employer or its workers’ compensation insurer.  Robbennolt, 555 N.W.2d at 235.  


(6) In determining the amount of penalty, the commissioner is to consider factors such as the length of the delay, the number of delays, the information available to the employer regarding the employee’s injury and wages, and the employer’s past record of penalties.  Robbennolt, 555 N.W.2d at 238.


(7) An employer’s bare assertion that a claim is “fairly debatable” does not make it so.  A fair reading of Christensen and Robbennolt, makes it clear that the employer must assert facts upon which the commissioner could reasonably find that the claim was “fairly debatable.”  See Christensen, 554 N.W.2d at 260.

Meyers v. Holiday Express Corp., 557 N.W.2d 502 (Iowa 1996).  

Weekly compensation payments are due at the end of the compensation week.  Robbennolt, 555 N.W.2d 229, 235.

Penalty is not imposed for delayed interest payments.  Davidson v. Bruce, 593 N.W.2d 833, 840 (Iowa App. 1999).  Schadendorf v. Snap-On Tools Corp., 757 N.W.2d 330, 338 (Iowa 2008).  

When an employee’s claim for benefits is fairly debatable based on a good faith dispute over the employee’s factual or legal entitlement to benefits, an award of penalty benefits is not appropriate under the statute.  Whether the issue was fairly debatable turns on whether there was a disputed factual dispute that, if resolved in favor of the employer, would have supported the employer's denial of compensability.  Gilbert v. USF Holland, Inc., 637 N.W.2d 194 (Iowa 2001).


Claimant contends that penalties are appropriate for underpayment of benefits in this case.  The record indicates defendants attempted to get information regarding claimants’ operating expenses.  Despite repeated requests, the only information defendants were given were claimant’s tax returns.  Claimant was paid benefits based on an understanding claimant’s average weekly wage was $637.34.  (Ex. A)  This amount is actually greater than the applicable rate.  Given these facts, penalty is not appropriate in this case. 
ORDER

THEREFORE, it is ordered:

That claimant’s rate is found to be three hundred nineteen and 47/100 dollars ($319.47) per week. 
That defendants shall file subsequent reports of injury as required by this agency under rule 876 IAC 3.1(2). 

That defendants shall pay the costs of this matter as required under rule 876 IAC 4.33.  
Signed and filed this ___23rd ___ day of January, 2013.
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7 IF  = 8 “Right to Appeal:  This decision shall become final unless you or another interested party appeals within 20 days from the date above, pursuant to rule 876-4.27 (17A, 86) of the Iowa Administrative Code.  The notice of appeal must be in writing and received by the commissioner’s office within 20 days from the date of the decision.  The appeal period will be extended to the next business day if the last day to appeal falls on a weekend or a legal holiday.  The notice of appeal must be filed at the following address:  Workers’ Compensation Commissioner, Iowa Division of Workers’ Compensation, 1000 E. Grand Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa  50319-0209.” 


